GoreMaster News

News page for GoreMaster.com!

For Morena Baccarin, Visitor role is most welcome

Posted by GoreMaster Special Effects on November 9, 2009

Morena Baccarin

Morena Baccarin

By Amy Amatangelo – BostonHerald.com

Morena Baccarin remembers the original “V” miniseries.

“It definitely made an impression on me as a child,” she said. “I remember my brother and I watching it and getting completely freaked out. It was enough to instill fear in me.”

Now Baccarin has a chance to scare another generation of viewers.

The Brazil native stars as Anna, the leader of the Visitors, in the ABC remake of  “V”

“Anna is a very complicated character,” Baccarin said in a recent telephone interview from Vancouver, Canada.

“I think she’s a lot like a politician in many ways. She’s ruthless and ambitious. I have to believe that what I’m doing is for the betterment of my people. When I say, ‘We mean no harm,’ I have to believe it. Just like a politician.”

She has found some common ground with her character.

“I relate to her in the little things. I pay attention to the details and am very focused on doing things properly,” she said. “I have to find some redeeming characteristics in her. She cares about her people. I don’t want to play her as completely evil.”

Now filming the series’ fourth episode, the 30-year-old still doesn’t know what the producers have planned for Anna.

“I get the answer, ‘Well, we’ll see’ a lot,” she said.

Baccarin first became known to TV viewers when she played Inara in the TV series “Firefly” and its big-screen sequel “Serenity.” But she doesn’t consider herself a science-fiction actress.

“Luckily, I’ve been able to work in every medium,” she said. “Science fiction used to get a really bad rap and I think that’s really changing. ‘V’ is not necessarily a science-fiction show. It’s more about relationships, drama and everyday stuff, and I think that makes science fiction more accessible to everyone.”

amazon-dvd-bestsellers

Amazon Specials!

GoreMaster.com_blkonwht

Leave a Reply

 
