GoreMaster News

News page for GoreMaster.com!

Moto Hata , Motoyoshi Hata… Rest in Peace friend

Posted by GoreMaster Special Effects on July 9, 2009

 

Moto Hata

Moto Hata

Moto Hata – Motoyoshi Hata

(B. 1963 – died July 9, 2009)

Moto Passed away from cancer at about 1:30am on July 9th, 2009. He had been battling cancer for a year or more.

Moto’s impressive body of work includes:

 300 (2006) – special effects sculptor 

Exorcist: The Beginning  (2004) – sculptor 

Men in Black II  (2002) – project supervisor 

The Time Machine (2002) – key artist 

She Creature  (2001 TV movie) – key artist 

Planet of the Apes (2001) – designer/sculptor 

Bicentennial Man  (1999) – sculptor 

Fight Club  (1999) – sculptor 

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas  (1998) – lizard puppeteer 

Men in Black (1997) – sculptor 

Baja Run  (1996) – assistant director 

Species  (1995) – “Sil” suit paint scheme 

Guyver: Dark Hero (1994) – creature effects 

Guyver  (1991) – creature effects head for “max” character, shop supervisor 

The Abyss  (1989) – technician 

Society (1989) – head technician 

Work credited as Motoyoshi Hata (9 titles)

Lady in the Water  (2006) – special effects crew 

X-Men: The Last Stand  (2006) – scultping department 

Underworld: Evolution  (2006) – sculptor/painter 

The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (2003) – sculptor 

Thir13en Ghosts  (2001) – special makeup effects crew 

Deep Rising  (1998) – sculptor 

Mission: Impossible  (1996) – sculptor 

Se7en  (1995) – sculptor 

 Kung Fu Rascals (1992) – Sushi Chief

Rick Baker and Moto Hata

Rick Baker and Moto Hata

Moto Hata working on Juggernaut maquette

Moto Hata working on Juggernaut maquette

 

Moto Hata doing work for Planet of the Apes

Moto Hata doing work for Planet of the Apes

Moto sculpting Mr. Hydes fist for the 2003 film 'The League of Extraodinary Gentlemen'

Moto sculpting Mr. Hydes fist for the 2003 film 'The League of Extraodinary Gentlemen'

Moto Hata sculpting

Moto Hata sculpting

Moto Hata displaying his amazing sculting ability

Moto Hata displaying his amazing sculting ability

www.goremaster.com_blk_wht

8 Responses to “Moto Hata , Motoyoshi Hata… Rest in Peace friend”

  1. fred cervantes said

    Moto was not just talented, but tremendously genuine, helpful and approachable. Thanks for publishing these photos. I am on a location where i’ve received the news. He will be missed.

  2. patty loza said

    god bless your soul….

  3. Joe Gomez said

    I was very fortunate to work with Moto over the years. Especially the times we worked late together at Steve Johnson Edge Fx. He would sculpt and i would mold his amazing sculptures. Moto was a perfectionist and hard working human being. He had a gift for his artistry that was seen and felt by many of his peers. I will miss him dearly. My heart goes out to his Wife and Family.

  4. Sandy Collora said

    Worked on many shows with him as well… His talent, candor, and sense of humor were always a source of inspiration and fun. Without question, one of the most professional, hard working, guys I’ve ever met. Moto was class act. Period. Rest in peace, friend.

  5. As brief as my encounter with moto hata was this time it was most impressionable. I hope eventually he’ll get to my group meeting! Hurry back!

  6. It is 5:30 A.M. and I am considering all of the, “what ifs”?
    I thought you were going to surprise me and make it to Sunshine group our last meeting I really did. It feels like
    you slipped through my hands like smoke, I did not even know
    you were a member of our district how does that happen? I wish we could have practiced together. My prayer is that this
    never happens again to you. I will do my best to be a good group leader my vow is no member is left behind. Thank you for your effort and courage I will continue to chant for your
    happiness and your love ones. See you my myoho friend.

  7. Ben Zahavi said

    I only met Moto on few occasions, but it was enough to leave a deep impression.
    He had that intense concentration when sculpting & yet otherwise so informal,
    modest, courteous & courageous. Moto was someone you look up to; He’s one of a kind!

  8. Hi Moto,

    I was thinking about you at our meeting. Miwa was there she

    looks really good. You are a winner!!! I am wearing my real

    hair and while combing it I was thinking how lush your

    beautiful black hair is. Taishiro “our” hero led a great

    study meeting “The Dragon Gate” Keep smiling.

Leave a Reply

 
